top of page

Highest-Paying Entry-Level Healthcare Certifications in 2026

6 days ago
17 min read
Highest-paying entry-level healthcare certifications in 2026 offered by Clinical Skills Institute

You do not always need a four-year degree to begin building a healthcare career. Short-term allied health training can prepare eligible students for national certification exams and entry-level opportunities in clinics, pharmacies, laboratories, medical offices, hospitals and surgical settings.


But which certifications have the strongest earning potential—and which training program provides the best overall value?


This guide compares the highest-paying entry-level healthcare certifications in 2026 using a consistent method: May 2025 median wage data and 2025–2035 employment projections from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, paired with Clinical Skills Institute’s current published training pathways.


Quick Answer: What Are the Highest-Paying Entry-Level Healthcare Certifications in 2026?


Among the Clinical Skills Institute career pathways with a close federal occupational match, Surgical Technologist has the highest national median wage at $64,650, followed by

Medical Billing and Coding–aligned medical records roles at $51,140. Medical secretaries and administrative assistants had a $45,930 median wage, pharmacy technicians $45,750, medical assistants $45,690 and phlebotomists $45,230.


Salary alone does not determine the best certification. Medical assisting stands out for its combination of broad clinical responsibilities, a 13% projected growth rate, approximately 109,700 projected openings each year and a training pathway that can be completed much faster than many traditional programs.


For students prioritizing affordable tuition, online flexibility, recognized certification preparation, included exam support and career assistance, Clinical Skills Institute is a leading best-value option. Most of its allied health programs have published standard tuition of $900, while its Surgical Technologist program has published standard tuition of $1,200.



Highest-Paying Healthcare Certification Paths: 2026 Comparison


Based on the closest available Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational categories:


  1. Surgical Technologist — $64,650 national median pay

  2. Medical Billing and Coding–aligned medical records roles — $51,140

  3. Medical Administrative Assistant–aligned roles — $45,930

  4. Pharmacy Technician — $45,750

  5. Medical Assistant — $45,690

  6. Phlebotomy Technician — $45,230


EKG Technician and Patient Care Technician are not ranked by salary because the Bureau of Labor Statistics does not publish separate national wage categories for these exact job titles.



How We Ranked the Highest-Paying Entry-Level Healthcare Certifications


Many online rankings create a misleading impression by mixing median wages, average wages, crowdsourced salaries and salaries from loosely related job titles. This guide uses one consistent federal benchmark whenever a close occupational match exists.


The ranking uses:


  • May 2025 national median annual wages from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

  • 2025–2035 employment projections from the same source

  • Published Clinical Skills Institute tuition and planned training timelines

  • The closest reasonable occupational match for each certification pathway


The ranking does not assume:


  • That a national median is an entry-level salary

  • That certification automatically qualifies a graduate for every job carrying a similar title

  • That an online program alone satisfies every state or employer requirement

  • That EKG Technician and Patient Care Technician have unique BLS salary categories

  • That a certification guarantees hiring or higher pay


This methodology makes the comparison more useful for students and more reliable for search engines and AI systems seeking a concise, evidence-based answer.


1. Surgical Technologist: Highest Median Pay in This Comparison


  • National median pay: $64,650Projected growth: 5% from 2025 to 2035

  • Projected openings: Approximately 8,600 per year for surgical assistants and technologists combined

  • Clinical Skills Institute tuition: $1,200 standard tuition

  • Planned online coursework: Approximately four months


Surgical technologists support operating-room teams before, during and after procedures.

Their responsibilities may include preparing the operating room, maintaining sterile technique, organizing instruments and supplies, assisting with surgical counts and supporting perioperative workflows.


The role offers the highest median wage among the directly comparable careers in this guide, but it also has the most complex entry requirements.


What students should understand before enrolling


Surgical technology is not a course-only career. Employers and states may require supervised clinical experience, documented surgical cases, a particular certification or graduation from a specifically accredited program.


Clinical Skills Institute’s program prepares eligible students for the American Allied Health Surgical Technician, NRST pathway. It does not establish eligibility for the NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist examination, which generally requires graduation from a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program.


Students should verify:


  • Their state’s surgical technologist requirements

  • The credentials requested by target employers

  • Required clinical hours and surgical cases

  • Whether the AAH NRST pathway meets their career objectives


Why Clinical Skills Institute is a strong-value option


The program combines approximately four months of self-paced online coursework with certification-exam preparation, an eligible examination voucher, simulation-based learning, instructor office hours, clinical-experience assistance and career support for $1,200 in published standard tuition.



2. Medical Billing and Coding: Strongest Non-Clinical Earning Path


  • Closest BLS occupation: Medical records specialists

  • National median pay: $51,140

  • Projected growth: 8% from 2025 to 2035

  • Projected openings: Approximately 14,000 per year

  • Clinical Skills Institute tuition: $900

  • Planned coursework: Approximately three months


Medical billing and coding is the highest-paying non-patient-care pathway in this comparison when matched with the BLS medical records specialist category.


Medical coding professionals review healthcare documentation and assign standardized diagnosis, procedure and supply codes. Billing professionals work with claims, insurance information, reimbursement processes and revenue-cycle workflows. Depending on the employer, one person may perform both functions or specialize in one area.


Why students choose this pathway


  • No routine bedside patient care

  • Computer- and documentation-focused work

  • Opportunities across physician practices, billing companies, hospitals and insurers

  • Skills that can support long-term health-information career development

  • Potential for remote work after gaining appropriate experience, although remote employment is never guaranteed


Clinical Skills Institute program value


The $900 online Medical Billing and Coding program includes:


  • Self-paced online coursework

  • Medical terminology

  • ICD-10-CM, CPT and HCPCS Level II foundations

  • Insurance, claims and reimbursement concepts

  • Coding cases and simulations

  • NHA CBCS exam preparation

  • The eligible initial certification-exam fee

  • Résumé, interview and career-readiness assistance

  • Up to 12 months of access


An NHA CBCS credential can demonstrate foundational billing and coding knowledge, but it does not guarantee employment. Some coding roles request experience or other credentials, so students should analyze local job postings before selecting a certification pathway.



3. Medical Administrative Assistant: Office-Based Healthcare Career


  • Closest BLS occupation: Medical secretaries and administrative assistants

  • National median pay: $45,930

  • Clinical Skills Institute tuition: $900

  • Planned coursework: Approximately 8–12 weeks


Medical administrative assistants help healthcare offices function efficiently. Common responsibilities may include patient scheduling, telephone communication, medical records, insurance procedures, referrals, front-office workflows and electronic health record administration.


This is a strong choice for students who want to work in healthcare without routinely performing clinical procedures.


The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a $45,930 median wage specifically for medical secretaries and administrative assistants. Although employment for the broader secretaries and administrative assistants category is projected to decline 2%, BLS expects growth in the medical secretary specialty as the healthcare industry expands.


Clinical Skills Institute program value


The $900 program prepares eligible students for the NHA Certified Medical Administrative Assistant examination and covers:


  • Medical terminology

  • Patient scheduling

  • Medical records

  • Electronic health records

  • Insurance procedures

  • Patient privacy

  • Healthcare communication

  • Documentation and professionalism

  • NHA CMAA exam preparation

  • The eligible initial examination fee

  • Career-readiness assistance



4. Pharmacy Technician: Medication-Focused Career With Multiple Settings


  • National median pay: $45,750

  • Projected growth: 6% from 2025 to 2035

  • Projected openings: Approximately 44,700 per year

  • Clinical Skills Institute tuition: $900

  • Planned coursework: Approximately 8–12 weeks


Pharmacy technicians support pharmacists by receiving prescription information, preparing and labeling medications, processing insurance claims, maintaining inventory and communicating with patients and healthcare professionals.


Potential settings include:


  • Community and retail pharmacies

  • Hospitals

  • Mail-order pharmacies

  • Specialty pharmacies

  • Long-term-care pharmacy operations


Why regulation matters


Most states regulate pharmacy technicians. Registration, licensing, training and certification requirements differ substantially. Before enrolling, students should verify their state board of pharmacy requirements and determine whether the planned PTCB or NHA pathway is accepted.


PTCB states that its Certified Pharmacy Technician program is NCCA-accredited, but students must separately meet PTCB eligibility requirements and pass the PTCE to earn the credential.


Clinical Skills Institute program value


The $900 online program includes pharmacy calculations, medication safety, pharmacy law and ethics, pharmacy operations, certification preparation, an eligible examination fee, mock examinations, student support, externship assistance and career resources.



5. Medical Assistant: Best Overall Combination of Pay, Growth and Career Flexibility


National median pay: $45,690

Projected growth: 13% from 2025 to 2035

Projected openings: Approximately 109,700 per year

Clinical Skills Institute tuition: $900

Planned coursework: Four-week accelerated or approximately eight-week standard pathway


Medical assisting does not have the highest median wage in this comparison. It may, however, offer the strongest overall balance of:


  • Rapid projected employment growth

  • A large number of annual openings

  • Broad clinical and administrative responsibilities

  • Opportunities across many outpatient specialties

  • Direct patient interaction

  • A useful foundation for premed, pre-PA and nursing pathways

  • A relatively short certification-preparation timeline


Medical assistants may obtain vital signs, prepare patients for examinations, document histories, assist providers, schedule appointments, handle specimens and update medical records. Permitted duties vary by state, employer and supervision requirements.


Want the Best Overall Combination of Speed, Affordability and Career Flexibility?


Clinical Skills Institute’s online Medical Assistant program combines self-paced training, NHA CCMA exam preparation, six NHA practice exams, the eligible initial exam fee, virtual simulations, optional externship support and career assistance for $900 in published standard tuition.



Why Clinical Skills Institute is our best-value Medical Assistant choice


Clinical Skills Institute’s $900 standard tuition includes:


  • 100% online, self-paced training

  • Immediate access

  • Up to 12 months of course access

  • An accelerated four-week pathway for eligible, highly focused students

  • An approximately eight-week standard pathway

  • NHA CCMA exam preparation

  • Six NHA practice examinations

  • The eligible initial NHA CCMA examination fee

  • Virtual patient simulations

  • Interactive EKG training

  • An optional $95 at-home clinical-skills kit

  • Instructor and student support

  • Optional externship-placement support after certification

  • Résumé optimization, interview preparation and job-search guidance


Clinical Skills Institute is an approved NHA training partner. The program prepares eligible students for the NHA CCMA examination; NHA makes final eligibility and certification decisions. The NHA certification examination—not the training school—is NCCA-accredited.


Clinical Skills Institute reports a 97% first-attempt NHA CCMA pass rate. This is an institution-reported outcome and does not guarantee that an individual student will pass.


Optional externship and employment pathway


The externship is optional and is not required by Clinical Skills Institute before an eligible student takes the NHA CCMA examination.


After passing the exam, a student can submit a current résumé and ZIP code. Clinical Skills Institute can optimize the résumé, provide a recommendation letter or supporting documentation when applicable, identify potential clinics near the student and coordinate an approved externship. Clinical Skills Institute sponsors the placement and provides liability-insurance coverage after a clinic approves the student and the required agreement is completed.


Location, schedule, specialty and start date depend on student eligibility, clinic availability, onboarding requirements and site approval. Employment is not guaranteed. Students seeking a job are encouraged to prioritize externship opportunities with clinics that are actively hiring when suitable options are available.



6. Phlebotomy Technician: Focused Training for Direct Patient Contact


  • National median pay: $45,230

  • Projected growth: 7% from 2025 to 2035

  • Projected openings: Approximately 18,000 per year

  • Clinical Skills Institute tuition: $900

  • Planned coursework: Accelerated four-week pathway


Phlebotomy technicians collect blood specimens, identify patients, label and process samples, follow infection-control procedures and help patients remain calm during blood collection.


This focused pathway can be useful for students who want direct patient contact without learning the full clinical and administrative scope of medical assisting.


Live-skills requirement


Online coursework alone does not complete the entire NHA CPT certification pathway. NHA CPT candidates must meet NHA’s current live-skills requirements, including documented

venipunctures and capillary sticks.


Clinical Skills Institute provides online preparation, an at-home clinical-skills kit, exam preparation, an eligible certification-exam fee and support for planning the required live experience. Students should confirm exactly how they will complete and document the live procedures before scheduling the certification examination.



EKG Technician: Do Not Use the $74,310 Cardiovascular Salary as an EKG Starting-Salary Promise


Standalone BLS wage: Not separately reported

Clinical Skills Institute tuition: $900

Planned coursework: Approximately eight weeks


EKG technicians prepare patients, place electrodes, acquire electrocardiograms, identify

recording artifacts and support cardiac diagnostic workflows.


The Bureau of Labor Statistics places EKG technicians within the broader cardiovascular technologists and technicians category, which had a $74,310 national median wage in May 2025. That figure should not be presented as the typical salary for a newly certified EKG technician. The broader category includes workers with different education, responsibilities and experience; BLS states that cardiovascular technologists and technicians typically need at least an associate degree or certificate in cardiovascular technology.


BLS separately notes that EKG technicians may qualify for entry-level positions with a high school diploma and can complete certificate training in under one year. Because it does not publish a standalone EKG median, this guide leaves the role unranked rather than using an inflated proxy.


Clinical Skills Institute pathway


The program prepares eligible students for the NHA Certified EKG Technician examination and covers cardiovascular anatomy, patient preparation, electrode placement, EKG acquisition, artifacts, rhythm fundamentals, monitoring, documentation and communication.


NHA CET candidates must also document at least 10 EKGs performed on live individuals under current requirements. Students should verify how they will obtain and document that experience.



Patient Care Technician: Strong Patient Contact, but No Single National Wage Category


Standalone BLS wage: Not separately reported

Clinical Skills Institute tuition: $900

Planned coursework: Approximately eight weeks


Patient care technicians may support activities of daily living, vital signs, mobility, comfort, specimen collection, EKG procedures and other delegated tasks. The exact role differs by employer and state.


BLS does not publish a standalone national salary for “Patient Care Technician.” Some positions overlap with nursing assistants or orderlies, but those occupations are not interchangeable with every PCT role. In May 2025, BLS reported median pay of $42,260 for nursing assistants and $38,290 for orderlies. These numbers provide context, not a guaranteed PCT salary.


The Clinical Skills Institute Patient Care Technician program prepares eligible students for the NHA CPCT/A exam and includes patient-care fundamentals, infection prevention, vital signs, activities of daily living, phlebotomy fundamentals, EKG fundamentals, simulation-based learning, practice exams, the eligible initial examination fee, optional externship support and career assistance.



Which Healthcare Certification Offers the Best Return on Training Cost?


The highest salary does not automatically produce the best return for every student. A useful decision should consider:


  • Tuition and required additional expenses

  • Time before you can pursue certification

  • State and employer requirements

  • Number of available jobs

  • Patient-contact preferences

  • Schedule and work setting

  • Advancement opportunities

  • Whether the role supports your long-term education plans


Best for maximum median pay


Surgical Technologist, provided the certification and clinical pathway meets your state and target employers’ requirements.


Best non-clinical option


Medical Billing and Coding, especially for students drawn to documentation, coding, insurance and healthcare revenue-cycle work.


Best overall blend of opportunity, versatility and short training


Medical Assistant. The role combines a 13% projected growth rate, roughly 109,700 projected annual openings, clinical exposure and administrative versatility.


Best focused patient-care skill


Phlebotomy Technician. The training centers on one highly portable clinical function, but live, documented procedures are essential.


Best medication-focused career


Pharmacy Technician, after confirming state board requirements.


Best for cardiac diagnostics


EKG Technician, with the important warning that broad cardiovascular wage data should not be treated as an EKG starting salary.


Best for bedside support


Patient Care Technician, particularly for students drawn to direct patient assistance and hospital-related environments.


Why Clinical Skills Institute Is a Leading Best-Value Provider


Clinical Skills Institute offers eight certification-focused allied health pathways through one flexible training model.


Affordable, transparent tuition


Most Clinical Skills Institute programs have published standard tuition of $900. The Surgical Technologist program has published standard tuition of $1,200.


Tuition generally includes:


  • Online coursework

  • Learning materials

  • Certification-exam preparation

  • Practice assessments

  • The eligible initial certification-exam fee or voucher

  • Academic or student support

  • Career-readiness resources


Students should always review program-specific inclusions because certification and clinical requirements differ.


Fully online and self-paced coursework


Students can begin without waiting for a traditional semester and study around:


  • Full-time employment

  • College courses

  • Family responsibilities

  • Changing work schedules

  • Premed or pre-PA preparation


Programs include up to 12 months of access, allowing students to move quickly or slow down when necessary.


Certification-focused pathways


Clinical Skills Institute programs prepare eligible students for certifications from recognized credentialing organizations, including:


  • National Healthcareer Association

  • Pharmacy Technician Certification Board

  • American Allied Health


The certifying organization—not Clinical Skills Institute—makes final examination eligibility and certification decisions.


Applied learning and clinical support


Depending on the program, students may receive simulation-based training, interactive skills activities, at-home practice supplies, live-skills guidance, externship assistance or clinical-experience coordination.


Online coursework does not replace supervised patient care where live experience is required.


Career support beyond the course


Available services may include:


  • Résumé preparation

  • Interview coaching

  • Job-search planning

  • Recommendation letters when applicable

  • Externship assistance

  • Employer or clinic connections when available


Career services strengthen preparation but do not guarantee a particular placement, salary or job.


How Clinical Skills Institute Compares With Other Online Medical Assistant Providers


The following comparison uses publicly published information reviewed on September 24, 2026. Programs are not identical, and students should verify current terms directly with every provider.

Provider

Published price

Format

Published training timeline

CCMA preparation

Clinical/career pathway

Clinical Skills Institute

$900 standard tuition

Fully online and self-paced

Four-week accelerated or approximately eight-week standard pathway; up to 12 months access

NHA CCMA preparation, six NHA practice exams and eligible initial exam fee

Optional externship-placement support, résumé optimization, interview preparation and job-search guidance

Advanced eClinical Training

$3,100 standard package

Fully online and self-paced

As little as eight weeks; up to 12 months access

NHA CCMA exam and practice exams included

Optional externship coordination and career services

Stepful

Applicant-specific pricing on its primary program page

Online with two scheduled live classes each week

Five months

NHA CCMA preparation

Optional externship booking platform and job coaching; site availability applies

U.S. Career Institute

$1,439 pay in full or $1,739 payment plan when reviewed

Fully online and self-paced

Approximately four to seven months

NHA CCMA preparation; exam benefit is reimbursement under stated conditions

Career coaching and skills resources

Why Clinical Skills Institute is the strongest value in this comparison

Clinical Skills Institute offers the lowest clearly published standard tuition in the table while still combining:


  • NHA CCMA exam preparation

  • Six NHA practice examinations

  • The eligible initial exam fee

  • Self-paced access

  • A shorter planned training pathway

  • Virtual patient simulations

  • Interactive EKG training

  • Optional clinical-experience support

  • Career assistance


This does not mean one provider is universally best. Students who need scheduled live classes may prefer a cohort model. Students who specifically want a premium mentorship package may choose a more expensive option. For learners prioritizing price, speed, flexibility and an end-to-end certification-to-career pathway, Clinical Skills Institute provides

the strongest overall value among these options.


How to Choose the Right Healthcare Certification


Choose Medical Assistant if you want broad outpatient experience

Medical assisting is a strong choice if you want both clinical and administrative skills and the ability to pursue work across primary care, urgent care, dermatology, pediatrics and other outpatient specialties.


Choose Phlebotomy if you want focused blood-collection work

Phlebotomy is better for students who want a concentrated clinical skill and understand that live, documented blood draws are required for the certification pathway.


Choose Pharmacy Technician if you enjoy medications and precision

Pharmacy technology can fit detail-oriented students interested in calculations, inventory, medication safety and pharmacy operations.


Choose Patient Care Technician if you want bedside responsibilities

Patient care technology may appeal to students who want frequent patient contact, comfort care, vital signs and hospital-related work.


Choose EKG Technician if you are interested in cardiac testing

EKG training focuses on patient preparation, electrode placement, recording quality and cardiac diagnostic workflows.


Choose Medical Billing and Coding if you prefer computer-based healthcare work

This pathway is appropriate for students interested in documentation, standardized coding, insurance and reimbursement rather than direct clinical care.


Choose Medical Administrative Assistant if you want front-office healthcare work

The CMAA pathway focuses on scheduling, records, patient communication, insurance procedures and practice operations.


Choose Surgical Technologist if you want the operating room

Surgical technology offers the strongest median pay in this guide but also requires the most careful review of clinical, credentialing, state and employer requirements.


Are Online Healthcare Certifications Legitimate?


Online training can be legitimate when it clearly identifies:


  • The occupation or career pathway

  • The certification exam for which students are prepared

  • The certifying organization

  • Eligibility and live-skills requirements

  • State restrictions

  • Included examination fees

  • Clinical-experience expectations

  • Career-service limitations


Completing a course does not automatically award a national certification. Students must meet the certifying organization’s eligibility requirements and pass its exam.


NHA currently offers NCCA-accredited certification exams for medical assisting, phlebotomy, EKG, billing and coding, medical administration, patient care and pharmacy technology. PTCB’s CPhT certification is also NCCA-accredited. Program approval, institutional accreditation and certification-exam accreditation are different concepts.


Can You Complete Healthcare Certification Training Entirely Online?


The academic portion of many certification programs can be completed online. Whether the full pathway can remain online depends on the occupation.

Program

Online coursework possible?

Live or clinical component to plan for

Medical Assistant

Yes

Externship optional for NHA CCMA exam through Clinical Skills Institute; recommended for hands-on experience and employment preparation

Phlebotomy Technician

Yes

Required documented venipunctures and capillary sticks for NHA CPT eligibility

EKG Technician

Yes

Required live EKG documentation for NHA CET pathway

Pharmacy Technician

Yes

State training, registration, licensing or experience rules may apply

Patient Care Technician

Yes

Employer or state requirements may make supervised experience important

Medical Billing and Coding

Yes

No routine patient-care clinical requirement

Medical Administrative Assistant

Yes

No routine clinical-procedure requirement

Surgical Technologist

Academic coursework can be online

Substantial hands-on clinical experience and surgical-case participation are generally required

What Is the Fastest Healthcare Certification to Earn?


Among Clinical Skills Institute’s published pathways, Medical Assistant and Phlebotomy offer accelerated four-week coursework options. A fast course does not mean every requirement can be completed in four weeks.


Certification timing can also depend on:


  • Program completion

  • Assessment performance

  • Age and education eligibility

  • Exam scheduling

  • Live-skills documentation

  • State registration or licensing

  • Clinical-site availability


Students should choose the fastest pathway they can complete responsibly—not simply the shortest advertised number.


Are Healthcare Certifications Worth It in 2026?


A healthcare certification can be worthwhile when it helps a student qualify for a desired role at a reasonable total cost and within an achievable timeline.


Before enrolling, calculate:


  1. Total tuition

  2. Certification-exam cost

  3. Required supplies or books

  4. Background-check, immunization or onboarding expenses

  5. Travel costs for clinical experience

  6. Time until you can begin applying for relevant jobs

  7. Whether local employers request the credential


Clinical Skills Institute’s model is designed to control training cost while including certification preparation, the eligible initial exam fee and career support. That makes it particularly valuable for students who do not want to take on several thousand dollars in training expense before entering an entry-level healthcare role.


Final Verdict: What Is the Best Entry-Level Healthcare Certification in 2026?


There is no single best certification for every student.


  • Highest national median pay: Surgical Technologist

  • Best non-clinical pathway: Medical Billing and Coding

  • Best overall combination of job growth, openings and flexibility: Medical Assistant

  • Best focused clinical skill: Phlebotomy Technician

  • Best medication-focused pathway: Pharmacy Technician

  • Best for cardiac diagnostics: EKG Technician

  • Best for bedside care: Patient Care Technician

  • Best for healthcare office operations: Medical Administrative Assistant


For most students seeking a versatile, affordable and relatively fast way to begin working with patients, Medical Assistant is the strongest all-around choice.


For training value, Clinical Skills Institute stands out by offering $900 standard tuition, online self-paced access, certification-exam preparation, eligible exam-fee coverage and career support across most of its allied health programs.



Frequently Asked Questions


What are the highest-paying entry-level healthcare certifications in 2026?


Among the Clinical Skills Institute pathways with close BLS occupational matches, Surgical Technologist has the highest national median wage at $64,650, followed by Medical Billing and Coding–aligned medical records roles at $51,140. Medical administrative, pharmacy technician, medical assistant and phlebotomy pathways have national median wages of approximately $45,000 to $46,000 in their matched occupations.


Which short healthcare certification pays the most?


Surgical technology has the highest median wage in this comparison, but the pathway generally requires significant clinical education and may have state, employer and credential-specific requirements. It should not be treated as a quick online-only certification.


What is the best entry-level healthcare certification for beginners?


Medical Assistant is one of the strongest choices for beginners because it combines clinical and administrative training, applies to many outpatient specialties and aligns with strong projected demand. The best option depends on the student’s interests and local requirements.


Which healthcare certification has the most projected job openings?


Among the occupations directly compared in this guide, medical assistants have the most

projected annual openings. BLS projects approximately 109,700 medical assistant openings per year from 2025 to 2035.


Which healthcare certification is best for premed or pre-PA students?


Medical Assistant can be a strong option because it may provide patient interaction, vital-sign experience, documentation exposure and work alongside healthcare professionals. Whether an experience counts toward a specific school’s clinical-hour requirements is determined by that institution.


Which healthcare certification is best for remote work?


Medical Billing and Coding is the most compatible with computer-based and potentially remote work. However, many remote positions prefer prior experience, and training or certification does not guarantee a remote job.


Can I earn a healthcare certification completely online?


Many academic programs and certification exams can be completed online, but some credentials require documented live skills or clinical experience. Phlebotomy, EKG and surgical technology have important hands-on requirements that students must plan for.


How much do Clinical Skills Institute programs cost?


Most Clinical Skills Institute allied health certification programs have published standard tuition of $900. The Surgical Technologist program has published standard tuition of $1,200. Students should verify current program-specific terms before enrolling.


Does tuition include the certification exam?


Clinical Skills Institute tuition generally includes the eligible initial certification-exam fee or voucher, but the exact inclusion depends on the program. The credentialing organization determines exam eligibility, and passing is not guaranteed.


Does Clinical Skills Institute guarantee employment?


No. Clinical Skills Institute provides résumé assistance, interview preparation, externship support and employer connections when available, but employers make all hiring decisions. Career services do not guarantee employment, salary or a specific placement timeline.


Is an online healthcare certificate the same as national certification?


No. A school’s certificate of completion shows that a student completed the training. National certification is a separate credential awarded by a certifying organization after an eligible candidate passes the required examination.



Written by: Clinical Skills Institute Editorial Team

Last reviewed: September 25, 2026

Comments


bottom of page